Laura Veirs -《Year of Meteors》[MP3!]

  • 状态: 精华资源
  • 摘要:
  • 时间: 2006/01/07 18:05:41 发布 | 2006/01/07 18:05:41 更新
  • 分类: 音乐  欧美音乐 


精华资源: 12

全部资源: 13

相关: 分享到新浪微博   转播到腾讯微博   分享到开心网   分享到人人   分享到QQ空间   订阅本资源RSS更新   美味书签  subtitle
专辑中文名Year of Meteors
歌手Laura Veirs

IPB Image

专辑名称:Year of Meteors
专辑歌手:Laura Veirs
唱片公司:Nonesuch Records


  来自西雅图的创作女歌手Laura Veirs,除了99年的首张同名专辑外,2003年在欧洲曾在Cocteau Twins的Bella Union厂牌下发行“Carbon Glacier”,获得英国传媒大力赞赏,The Guardian称赞:‘出奇的优美’,Uncut还给予5颗星满分高评并选为当月最佳专辑。

  受到爵士吉他手Bill Frisell青睐引见后,与Nonesuch签约后也在美国发行。2005最新作品“Year Of Meteors”,Laura Veirs依旧散发出甜美、浪漫的民谣旋律之音。Q、Mojo、Uncut杂志与AMG音乐网站纷纷给予5颗星高评。

Seattle-based singer-songwriter Laura Veirs calls her 2005 Nonesuch release Year of Meteors "a road record." "It doesn't sound like one," she says, "but it is." Veirs had spent most of 2004 touring in support of the hauntingly beautiful Carbon Glacier, her breakthrough effort and Nonesuch debut. She started out in Europe, where she was greeted with overwhelming critical praise and sold-out houses. Then Veirs worked her way around the States, where she was still just being discovered (though the reviews were also often superlative). The experience was at times heady, other times grueling, and she incorporated it into her new songs. However, given Veirs' vividly descriptive yet dream-like lyrics, you won't learn anything about her actual itinerary. Year of Meteors is no ordinary travelogue, but it will definitely take you on a remarkable journey.

"All the songs are about transportation, motion," Veirs explains. "If you listen to the words, there's always some movement happening, whether it's greyhounds running down a mountainside as mud flows or a person flying off into the sun or someone lurking around the bottom of the sea. I think that's because I was in motion so much of the year. Somehow I knew that all the traveling would come into the songs, but I wanted to remain focused on the bigger things, not just life on the road, so that's why there are no direct references to that." There are, she hastens to add, "love songs related to that experience, like the struggles of being away from home and your partner. Or having my band and the different relationships I have formulated, many of them very close because of the intense circumstances of touring. So it's a relationship record too."

And, finally, it's a band record: a fertile collaboration between Veirs and her studio band, the Tortured Souls (who often play live with her)--Steve Moore (piano, organs), Karl Blau (bass, guitar, vocals), and producer Tucker Martine (drums, percussion, treatments). Viola player Eyvind Kang, another longtime associate, also sat in. As Veirs explains, "When we talked about making the album, we decided to record a lot of these songs as a band first, then do some more of the solo type of songs. It had always been the opposite before, I would go in and record the more quiet guitar parts and sing. This time, half of the record or more are tracks that we did live as a band first. Then we went in and recorded the quieter ones. We approached this from the beginning more as a band album and it really turned out that way."



01. Fire Snakes
02. Galaxies
03. Secret Someones
04. Magnetized
05. Parisian Dream
06. Rialto
07. Through the Glow
08. Cool Water
09. Spelunking
10. Black Gold Blues
11. Where Gravity Is Dead
12. Lake Swimming




zjfzjcn 2010/10/19 17:56:21 补充




(?) [公告]留口水、评论相关规则

  1. 类似“顶”、“沙发”之类没有营养的文字,对勤劳贡献的楼主来说是令人沮丧的反馈信息。
  2. 提问之前请再仔细看一遍楼主的说明,或许是您遗漏了。
  3. 勿催片。请相信驴友们对分享是富有激情的,如果确有更新版本,您一定能搜索到。
  4. 请勿到处挖坑绊人、招贴广告。既占空间让人厌烦,又没人会搭理,于人于己都无利。
  5. 如果您发现自己的评论不见了,请参考以上4条。