Country Joe McDonald -《Thinking of Woody Guthrie》Remastered[MP3!]

  • 状态: 精华资源
  • 摘要:
  • 时间: 2007/06/30 22:14:40 发布 | 2007/06/30 22:14:40 更新
  • 分类: 音乐  欧美音乐 


精华资源: 1068

全部资源: 1096

相关: 分享到新浪微博   转播到腾讯微博   分享到开心网   分享到人人   分享到QQ空间   订阅本资源RSS更新   美味书签  subtitle
专辑中文名Thinking of Woody Guthrie

IPB Image


Country Joe McDonald,也就是Country Joe and the Fish的Country Joe,出生在共产党家庭的美国乡村歌星Country Joe McDonald在60年代写出了许多著名的反战歌曲,比如1967年的反越战歌曲《I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag 》和1968年的《Country Joe McDonald》曾一度产生及广泛的影响。

"Country" Joe McDonald (born Joseph McDonald, on January 1, 1942 in Washington, DC) was the leader and lead singer of the 1960s rock & roll group Country Joe and the Fish. He started his career busking on Berkeley, California's famous Telegraph Avenue in the early 1960's.[1] McDonald still lives in Berkeley.

Country Joe has recorded 33 albums and has written hundreds of songs over a career spanning 40 years. He and Barry Melton co-founded Country Joe and The Fish which became a pioneer psychedelic band with their eclectic performances at The Avalon Ballroom, Fillmore, Monterey Pop Festival and Woodstock.

Their best-known song is his "I Feel Like I'm Fixin' to Die Rag," a black comedy novelty song about the Vietnam War, whose familiar chorus ("One, two, three, what are we fighting for?") is well known to the Woodstock generation and Vietnam Vets of the 1960s and 1970s. He is also known for "The Fish Cheer" which was a cheerleader-style call-and-response with the audience where Joe spelled out "fish" ("Give me an F!"). At Woodstock, he altered the cheer to spell out the word "[内容被过滤,请注意论坛文明]" instead. He also did this at the Isle of Wight Festival 2007.

Joe went on to have a long solo career with key albums including:

* Thinking of Woody Guthrie (1969) – recorded in Nashville, which at the time was a very odd choice of location for a hippie songster to make an album of leftist anthems.
* War War War (1971) – another tribute to a landmark American radical, the World War I anti-war poems of Robert W. Service set to music.
* Hold On It's Coming – songs about the West Coast hippie movement.
* Superstitious Blues – with Jerry Garcia playing guitar on some tracks.
* Paradise With an Ocean View (1977) – included the landmark environmental protest song "Save the Whales".
* Paris Sessions – landmark feminism, with a female band, singing songs, written by Joe, including "Sexist Pig".

In 2004, Country Joe re-formed some original members of Country Joe and The Fish as the Country Joe Band – Bruce Barthol, David Bennett Cohen, and Gary "Chicken" Hirsh. The band toured Los Angeles, Berkeley, Bolinas, Sebastopol, Grants Pass, Eugene, Portland and Seattle. They then made a 10-stop tour of the United Kingdom and played at the Isle of Wight and London. Following that came the New York tour which included a Woodstock reunion performance followed by an appearance at the New York State Museum in Albany. Returning to the West Coast the band played in Marin and Mendocino Counties, the World Peace Music Awards in San Francisco and at the Oakland Museum as part of an exhibit on the Vietnam War.

In the spring of 2005, McDonald joined a larger protest against California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger's proposed budget cuts at the California state capital.

In the fall of 2005, political commentator Bill O'Reilly compared McDonald, a Navy veteran, [1] to Cuban president Fidel Castro, remarking on McDonald's involvement in Cindy Sheehan's protests against the Iraq War. [2]

McDonald's daughter Seven is a columnist for the LA Weekly.



01. Pastures Of Plenty
02. Talkin' Dust Bowl
03. Blowing Down That Dusty Road
04. So Long It's Been Good To Know Yuh
05. Tom Joad
06. The Sinking Of The Reuben James
07. Roll On Columbia
08. Pretty Boy Floyd
09. When The Curfew Blows
10. This Land Is Your Land







(?) [公告]留口水、评论相关规则

  1. 类似“顶”、“沙发”之类没有营养的文字,对勤劳贡献的楼主来说是令人沮丧的反馈信息。
  2. 提问之前请再仔细看一遍楼主的说明,或许是您遗漏了。
  3. 勿催片。请相信驴友们对分享是富有激情的,如果确有更新版本,您一定能搜索到。
  4. 请勿到处挖坑绊人、招贴广告。既占空间让人厌烦,又没人会搭理,于人于己都无利。
  5. 如果您发现自己的评论不见了,请参考以上4条。