Edgar Broughton Band -《Wasa Wasa》[MP3!]

  • 状态: 精华资源
  • 摘要:
  • 时间: 2007/02/19 22:03:29 发布 | 2007/02/19 22:03:29 更新
  • 分类: 音乐  欧美音乐 


精华资源: 1068

全部资源: 1096

相关: 分享到新浪微博   转播到腾讯微博   分享到开心网   分享到人人   分享到QQ空间   订阅本资源RSS更新   美味书签  subtitle
专辑中文名Wasa Wasa

IPB Image


最近会发一些Blackhill Enterprises公司下的乐队(这个公司不需要多作介绍了,老板是Peter Jenner和Andrew King,Marc Bolan就是这个公司的,还有大名鼎鼎的Roy Harper),今天发的这个乐队叫Edgar Broughton Band,1968年成立于英国,一支无政府主义反传统体制的前卫摇滚乐队,我个人认为是一个迷幻和前朋克综合体,这张1969年发行的首张专辑, 感觉像是早期的Pink Fairies和Fugs的混合,不乾不涩,疯癫但不失稳重。

The band started their career as a blues group under the name of The Edgar Broughton Blues Band, playing to a dedicated but limited following in the region around their hometown of Warwick. However, when the band began to lean towards the emerging psychedelic movement, dropping the 'Blues' from their name as well as their music, Victor Unitt left.

In 1968, the Broughtons moved to Notting Hill Gate, London, seeking a record deal and a wider audience, and were picked up by Blackhill Enterprises. Blackhill landed them their first record deal, on EMI's progressive rock label Harvest Records, in December 1968. Their first single was "Evil"/"Death of an Electric Citizen", released in June 1969, which was also the first single released by Harvest. This was followed by the Broughtons' first album, "Wasa Wasa".

After a series of free concerts, many performed on the back of trucks, the Broughtons entered in an attempt to capture their ferocious live sound on record by organising a performance at Abbey Road on 9 December 1969. Only one track was released at the time: a rendition of "Out, Demons Out!", an adaptation of The Fugs' song "Exorcising The Demons Out Of The Pentagon" which had become the band's set-closer and anthem. The rest of the recording was lost until its rediscovery and release in a remixed form in 2004 as "Keep Them Freaks a Rollin': Live at Abbey Road 1969". The Abbey Road concert was the second and last such concert at Abbey Road (the only other being the Beatles' famous rooftop performance in January of the same year).

The Edgar Broughton Band kept recording, releasing the live performance of "Out Demons, Out!" as a single (b/w "Momma's Reward (Keep Those Freaks a Rollin')") and following it, in June 1970, with the album "Sing Brother Sing". This was accompanied by the single "Up Yours!" (b/w "Officer Dan"), a polemic on the 1970 General Election declaring their intention to drop out. The song featured a string arrangement by David Bedford.

Their next single, "Apache Dropout", combined The Shadows' "Apache" with Captain Beefheart's "Drop Out Boogie". It was played (to astonished and puzzled reactions) on David Jacobs', Juke Box Jury, television programme. Jerry Lordan, the composer of Apache, insisted that the title be "Apache Dropout" instead of the original "Dropout Apache". The single reached #33 on the UK Singles Chart, stalling partly due to the then-current postal strike.

In 1971, the band decided that existence as a power trio was limiting, and asked Victor Unitt, who had been playing meanwhile in The Pretty Things, to rejoin the band. In May, with the new layout, they released possibly their finest work: their eponymous third album, which contained the classic "Evening Over Rooftops", again with strings by David Bedford which Edgar Broughton called "stunning". "Edgar Broughton Band" contained heavy blues and even country influences. Mike Oldfield also featured, on "Thinking Of You". The album was followed by the released of the double A-side "Hotel Room"/"Call Me A Liar". This was played by [[Tony Blackburn] as his 'record of the week' upon its release: Edgar Broughton recalled him saying "that he hated everything that we stood for, but that the single was the best thing he had heard that year". The single failed to chart, but the album sold well throughout Europe, especially in Germany.

With the success of their third album, the Broughtons relocated to Devon to begin recording for their next album, "Inside Out".

Following a lengthy hiatus, the band returned to live action in 2006, after the re-issue of their back catalogue had stimulated new interest in their work. The band have now reformed; they have recently had a mini tour of England and are now touring Germany. The band have recently announced a new European tour in 2007.



1. Death Of An Electric Citizen
2. American Boy Soldier
3. Why Can't Somebody Love Me
4. Neptune
5. Evil
6. Crying
7. Love In The Rain
8. Dawn Crept In







(?) [公告]留口水、评论相关规则

  1. 类似“顶”、“沙发”之类没有营养的文字,对勤劳贡献的楼主来说是令人沮丧的反馈信息。
  2. 提问之前请再仔细看一遍楼主的说明,或许是您遗漏了。
  3. 勿催片。请相信驴友们对分享是富有激情的,如果确有更新版本,您一定能搜索到。
  4. 请勿到处挖坑绊人、招贴广告。既占空间让人厌烦,又没人会搭理,于人于己都无利。
  5. 如果您发现自己的评论不见了,请参考以上4条。