Blues Magoos -《Electric Comic Book》[MP3!]

  • 状态: 精华资源
  • 摘要:
  • 时间: 2007/02/13 17:02:41 发布 | 2007/02/13 17:02:41 更新
  • 分类: 音乐  欧美音乐 


精华资源: 1068

全部资源: 1096

相关: 分享到新浪微博   转播到腾讯微博   分享到开心网   分享到人人   分享到QQ空间   订阅本资源RSS更新   美味书签  subtitle
专辑中文名Electric Comic Book
歌手Blues Magoos

IPB Image


The Blues Magoos是一支1964年组建于纽约布朗克斯(纽约市最北端的一区)的迷幻乐队,最早乐队的名字叫做"The Trenchcoats",成员为Emil Thielhelm aka Peppy Castro (vocals and guitar), Dennis LaPore (lead guitar), Ralph Scala (organ and vocals), Ronnie Gilbert (bass) and John Finnegan (drums).1966年正式改名为Blues Magoos,并且人员有所调整Mike Esposito成了主音吉他,Geoff Daking成了新的鼓手。

最初他们在一些小的厂牌发行了不少单曲,例如Ganim Records和Verve Records,但是这些单曲并没有给他带来很好的成绩和名声,好在后来签约Mercury Records,并在1966年末以一张Psychedelic Lollipop登场,这是历史上第二张正式在标题中直接打上Psychedelic标签的专辑,第一张是13th Floor Elevators的The Psychedelic Sounds of the 13th Floor Elevators,所以说他们是迷幻的始祖之一也并不过分

Formed in the Bronx, New York, USA, in 1964 and initially known as The Trenchcoats, the founding line-up consisted of Emil "Peppy" Thielhelm, vocals, guitar, Dennis LaPore, lead guitar, Ralph Scala, organ and vocals, Ronnie Gilbert, bass and John Finnegan, drums . The group quickly became an important part of the emergent Greenwich Village rock scene and in 1966 secured a residency at the fabled Night Owl club. Near the end of '66, the band was calling itself "Bloos Magoos" and Mike Esposito was brought in as their new lead guitarist. Esposito had at one time been in a college band with Lou Reed, and his inventive guitar playing, utilizing controlled feedback and tape-echo devices, added a new dimension to the group's sound. Having recorded flop singles for Ganim and Verve Records, the band was signed to Mercury Records, where they became the subject of intense grooming. Drummer Geoff Daking replaced LaPore in time to record their debut album, "Psychedelic Lollipop", which was released in November 1966. The band was now using a more traditional spelling of their name, "Blues Magoos".

In February of 1967, Mercury released a single called "We Ain't Got Nothin' Yet", written by band members, Gilbert, Scala and Esposito. The song was a Top Twenty hit for the 'Magoos' in America and finished at number 72 for the entire year, but failed to achieve the same success in the UK.

A follow up hit was even harder to come by for the Magoos and their next effort, "There's A Chance We Can Make It" was mostly ignored. Subsequent efforts, "One By One" , "I Wanna Be There" and "Life is Just a Cher O'Bowlies" also failed to gain any attention. One last single release on Mercury called "I Can Hear The Grass Grow", issued in 1968, also missed the charts. By now, tensions were growing among the members of the band and the original line up split.

On the strength of their name alone, the band's management team re-signed the group to ABC Records, and, as Thielhelm had accumulated a backlog of material, suggested he front a revamped line-up. John Leillo played vibes, Eric Kaz was now on keyboards, Roger Eaton played bass and Richie Dickon became the drummer. In 1969, the band completed the album "Never Goin' Back To Georgia", while the same group, except for Eaton, was augmented by session musicians for the disappointing 1970 LP, "Gulf Coast Bound". Neither of these sold well and after hanging on for another two years, The Blues Magoos packed it in.

Thielhelm took a role in the rock musical Hair using the name, "Peppy Castro". He has since pursued a varied career as a member of Barnaby Bye, Wiggy Bits and Balance, while Cher and Kiss are among the artists who have recorded his songs. Organist, Eric Kaz went on to form American Flyer.

On Nov. 9, 2000, The Blues Magoos, featuring Emil "Peppy" Thielhelm and Ralph Scala played at a garage band revival show called "Cavestomp".

Although they were only "one hit wonders", Blues Magoos, with their electric suits and giant, onstage lava lamps, are fondly remembered as a classic example of the "psychedelic" music era.



01. Pipe Dream
02. There's A Chance We Can Make It
03. Life Is Just A Cher O' Bowlies
04. Gloria
05. Intermission
06. Albert Common Is Dead
07. Summer Is The Man
08. Baby, I Want You
09. Let's Get Together
10. Take My Love
11. Rush Hour
12. That's All Folks
13. So I'm Wrong And You Are Right
14. People Had No Faces
15. Pipe Dream - (Single Version)
16. There's A Chance We Can Make It - (Single Version)
17. One By One - (Single Version)
18. Dante's Inferno - (Single Version)
19. Summer Is The Man - (Single Version)
20. Life Is Just A Cher O' Bowlies - (Single Version)
21. Jingle Bells - (Single Version)
22. Santa Claus Is Coming Town - (Single Version)
23. So I'm Wrong And You Are Right - (alternate take)






(?) [公告]留口水、评论相关规则

  1. 类似“顶”、“沙发”之类没有营养的文字,对勤劳贡献的楼主来说是令人沮丧的反馈信息。
  2. 提问之前请再仔细看一遍楼主的说明,或许是您遗漏了。
  3. 勿催片。请相信驴友们对分享是富有激情的,如果确有更新版本,您一定能搜索到。
  4. 请勿到处挖坑绊人、招贴广告。既占空间让人厌烦,又没人会搭理,于人于己都无利。
  5. 如果您发现自己的评论不见了,请参考以上4条。